Students prepare for day of debate

On Saturday the Rotary Club of Boorowa will host the annual District Model United Nations Assembly (MUNA) at the Boorowa Central School. It is an exciting day of debate for students from around the district. We would like to invite parents, friends or interested people to drop in and observe the proceedings. Come along, have a coffee and enjoy seeing our representatives in action. Arrive anytime between 9.30am and 3.30pm and you will catch part of the action.

This year we have 14 teams of two or three Year 10, 11 or 12 students who are coming from as far afield as Wagga Wagga, Cootamundra, Bathurst, Orange, Young and of course Boorowa. Teams usually consist of two student delegates plus a responsible person to act as a counsellor. This could be a parent or teacher or a Year 12 student who had previously participated in MUNA.

The objective of MUNA is to promote international understanding and goodwill. Teams representing individual nations debate topics of international concern such as the issues of terrorism in an environment modelled on the real United Nations. Resolutions will be debated on diverse subjects such as world peace, environmental issues, human rights and terrorism.

Before attending, the teams are expected to familiarise themselves with the nation they represent by studying its history, politics, economics, people, geography, international alignment and real life stance on world affairs.

Ideally a familiarisation with the nation that the students are representing will not only involve the participating students but will hopefully become a learning exercise for all the students in that year.

If the nation allocated to a team has an Embassy or High Commission in Canberra, they may make contact with them. Many Embassies and High Commissions look forward to assisting the students with their MUNA experience in any way they can.

Boorowa Central School students are ready for the Model United Nations Assembly’s debates. Team Turkey: Back row – Jonathan Morgan, Garbrielle Hewitt. Front row – Harmony Mewburn. Team Canada: Back row – Kimberley Taylor, Kirsty Taylor. Front row – Jessica Howlett. Team Great Britain : Back row – Katelyn Andrews, Madeline Hanns. Front row – Maddy Mitchell.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美睫培训.